Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Too Much Testosterone for One Stage

This second debate was, by far, better than the first. The moderator controlled the topics better and the answers were better by both Romney and Obama. They still kept cutting her off though! Especially Romney. That's just rude and makes me not like you.

But, all in all, I couldn't tell who won exactly. Obama supporters seem pretty happy and Romney supporters seem pretty happy too. Something that really threw me off at first was the fact that Romney was wearing a blue tie and Obama was wearing a red tie. It's interesting how we associate colors like that to political parties! It was just neat!

In the beginning, I thought Obama was nailing it and Romney was like struggling to survive. Romney just wasn't answering the questions, he seemed to just point fingers and blame Obama for what he'd done to the economy or hadn't done to fix taxes for the middle class. After a bit, they both started getting more into their answers and answered the questions well, which made the debate interesting. When talking about foreign policy, they looked like they were about to swing a punch. Like the title suggests, there was just too much testosterone! Romney really pushed his CEO status and Obama addressed his status as the President.

One thing I noticed throughout the entire debate was that Obama really addressed the crowd in just about everything he said. He used a lot of "we" and "you" statements. He seemed to be able to connect with the people better in his responses. That could be because of his status as President. He has had lots of practice. On the other hand, Romney used a lot of "I" statements. It made me uneasy and a little disconnected. Romney's responses were just harder to follow than Obama's.



No comments:

Post a Comment